MyBible - the most convenient Bible for Android and iOS Strong's numbers, parallel windows, hundreds of modules, comments ...


Info Goals Brief description Detailed description History of Releases Releases Roadmap Screenshots
Help

Synchronization
Icons Search possibilities Tips Themes Day and night mode Launching on PC/Mac
Download Application Modules Deleted Modules Modules statistics



Synchronization

MyBible supports synchronization between different devices of the same user.

Synchronization principle

MyBible synchronization is based on the following:
  • All the data used by MyBible are stored on SD card or internal flash of a device, in the /MyBible directory.
  • The /MyBible/user subdirectory contains all the data entered/collected by the user (settings, bookmarks, reading places, notes, themes).
  • Actual synchronization of files is to be performed by an external application working with the Google Drive service or the Dropbox service.
  • MyBible detects and loads external changes of user data while bringing up the Bible window.

Setting up MyBible synchronization

Use external files synchronization applications like Drive Autosync or Dropsync to synchronize the /MyBible directory between your devices via Google Drive or Dropbox, respectively.

Steps to set up MyBible synchronization:
  • Install a files synchronization application from Google Play, e.g. Drive Autosync.
  • Configure the files synchronization application to sync the /MyBible directory with the cloud service (e.g. Google Drive), using two-way synchronization.
    Notes: Free versions of files synchronization applications limit uploading to the cloud to 8Mb, so some MyBible modules will not synchronize. If you do not want to spend a few dollars on a paid Pro version of a synchronization application, you can then synchronize only the /MyBible/user subdirectory, and manually download missing modules from MyBible.
  • In the files synchronization application enable the Autosync option, and select a reasonable autosync interval (which affects bringing updated files from the cloud to the device).

Once the steps above are done on your devices, using the same files synchronization application for the same user account and the same directory in the cloud storage on all the devices, MyBible synchronization will come into play.

Synchronization conflicts

When MyBible synchronization is set up, it is assumed that the user will not use MyBible on more than one device at the same time. When working, MyBible updates its settings file often, so with parallel usage of MyBible on several synchronized devices actual synchronization of MyBible settings and other user's data is not possible.

If such a situation happens though, the file synchronization application detects a file update conflict. Latest update of the file will stay then, completely overriding an update made earlier from another device.

Also, additional files will be created on the device, having the added "conflict" word with a timestamp in their names (such files can usually be just deleted when noticed).




| About us | Contact | Help | Donate | FAQ |


©2014-2017, official website of MyBible - Bible App for Android and iOS